Court Punishment for 1st, 2nd, 3rd or Greater Arrest

Court Punishment for a First, Second, Third, or Subsequent Pennsylvania DUI Arrest

A Pennsylvania DUI arrest triggers a court prosecution that carries significant consequences if you're convicted. Your case may be resolved by a skillfully negotiated plea bargain that might result in reduced charges and/or lesser punishment. If you are convicted of a Pennsylvania DUI in court or if you enter a plea or plea bargain, the next phase of the court process is sentencing. An experienced Pennsylvania DUI lawyer from Levow & Associates will always strive to minimize or even eliminate the repercussions of a PA driving under the influence charge.

In 2003, Pennsylvania adopted a three-tiered DUI law that bases penalties on the driver's blood alcohol content (BAC) and other factors such as prior driving under the influence convictions. The three BAC levels are:

  • General Impairment - .08 to .099 percent BAC
  • High BAC - .10 to .159 percent BAC
  • Highest BAC - .16 percent and greater BAC

The punishment for a general-impairment Pennsylvania DUI with a BAC of .08 to .099 percent depends on whether you have prior driving under the influence convictions within the past 10 years. If you don't have prior convictions, a general-impairment Pennsylvania DUI conviction carries a $300 fine, up to six months probation, alcohol highway safety school, and substance-abuse treatment if ordered.

If you have one prior driving under the influence conviction, a general-impairment Pennsylvania DUI conviction carries a 12-month driver's license suspension, five days to six months in jail, a $300 to $2,500 fine, an ignition interlock device for one year, alcohol highway safety school, and substance-abuse treatment if ordered.

A general-impairment Pennsylvania DUI charge with two or more prior convictions in the past 10 years is a second-degree misdemeanor which carries a 12-month driver's license suspension, 10 days to two years in prison, a $500 to $5,000 fine, an ignition interlock device for one year, and substance-abuse treatment if ordered.

If you're charged with a high-BAC Pennsylvania DUI charge and have no prior convictions for driving under the influence within the past 10 years, you face a 12-month driver's license suspension, 48 hours to six months in jail, a fine of $500 to $5,000, alcohol highway safety school, and substance-abuse treatment if ordered.

A high-BAC Pennsylvania DUI charge with one prior conviction carries a 12-month driver's license suspension, 30 days to six months in jail, a $750 to $5,000 fine, an ignition interlock device for one year, alcohol highway safety school, and substance-abuse treatment if ordered.

A high-BAC Pennsylvania DUI charge with two prior convictions is a first-degree misdemeanor punishable with an 18-month driver's license suspension, 90 days to five years of incarceration, a fine of $1,500 to $10,000, an ignition interlock device for one year, and substance-abuse treatment if ordered.

A high-BAC Pennsylvania DUI charge with three or more prior convictions is a first-degree misdemeanor that carries an 18-month driver's license suspension, one to five years in prison, a $1,500 to $10,000 fine, an ignition interlock device for one year, and substance-abuse treatment if ordered.

If you're charged with highest-BAC Pennsylvania DUI - .16 percent BAC or greater - and have no prior convictions for driving under the influence within the past 10 years, you face a 12-month driver's license suspension, 72 hours to six months in jail, a $1,000 to $5,000 fine, alcohol highway safety school, and substance-abuse treatment if ordered.

A Pennsylvania DUI charge with the highest BAC and one prior conviction is a first-degree misdemeanor punishable by an 18-month driver's license suspension, 90 days to five years of incarceration, a $1,500 to $10,000 fine, an ignition interlock device for one year, alcohol highway safety school, and substance-abuse treatment if ordered.

A highest-BAC Pennsylvania DUI charge with two or more prior convictions within 10 years is a first-degree misdemeanor that carries an 18-month driver's license suspension, one to five years in prison, a fine of $2,500 to $10,000, alcohol highway safety school, and substance-abuse treatment if ordered.

Clearly, the repercussions of a Pennsylvania DUI conviction are extremely significant, but it may be possible to avoid some or all of these consequences. An experienced Pennsylvania DUI attorney from Levow & Associates will thoroughly analyze your case to determine the most promising strategy for your defense.